Annual General meeting and 2021/22 and the 40th Anniversary Celebrations Event of the ITPSL

The Annual General Meeting 2021/22 and the 40th Anniversary Celebrations Event of the ITPSL concluded successfully on 26th March 2022. Annual General meeting – Five applicants were elected as New Members of the ITPSL Felicitations- Plnr. (Prof.) P.K.S. Mahanama - Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa Plnr. N.P.K. Ranaweera – Director General of the Urban Development Authority. 40th Anniversary Celebrations Event The 40th Anniversary was celebrated under the timely theme of “Facing the Future with Confidence”. Hon. Dr. Nalaka Godahewa, State Minister of Urban Development, Waste Disposal, and Community Cleanliness participated in the event as the Chief Guest. Vidyajothi Emeritus Professor Dr. Willie Mendis - The past President(FITPSL), addressed the gathering on the Evolution of Urban Planning as a Profession in Sri Lanka.  Plnr. Hemantha Jayasundara, - Past President (FITPSL) delivered a presentation on the Way forward of the Profession. Special Guest Presentation was delivered by CHEC Port City Colombo Pvt. Ltd. on Colombo Port City Development Project. Congratulations to All the Winners of the ITPSL Awards 2021 ITPSL Honorary Award (A lifetime Award) - J. M. L. Jayasekara – Past President, (FITPSL) ITPSL Award for Planning Excellence (Planning Processes and Programs) – Planning Team of the Urban...


The Institute of Town Planners Sri Lanka (ITPSL) was established in 1982 and incorporated under the provisions of Parliament Act No 23 of 1986 is the professional body responsible for enhancing the Town Planning Profession in Sri Lanka.

The Institute was brought into existence to promote the profession of Town & Country Planning in Sri Lanka and to enhance the standard of the profession in the country in keeping with global trends and developments in this field.

The Institute also plays a lead role in expressing its professional opinion on matters, directly and indirectly, concerned with the urban and regional development of Sri Lanka and has offered its advice and services to the Government, Semi-Government Institutions, and Provincial and Local Authorities.


The Institute of Town Planners’ Sri Lanka (ITPSL) established the young planners’ forum of Sri Lanka (YPF) in 2004, which is the unique affiliated body of the institute that provide professional guidance to the upcoming planning graduates and young planners who are the future strength of national planning development.